top of page

Black Men Smile

"The black artist is dangerous. Black art controls the ‘Negro’s’ reality, negates negative influences, and creates positive images."

- Sonia Sanchez


This is an image of my grandfather, father, and 3 brothers (Left to right: Colin Grimes, Derek Wade, James Wade, Peace Wade, & Kwaseem Wade) taken at an open to the public photo shoot celebrating black men! Thank you to Juniors Place for hosting us at your beautiful facility. Click here to see more images

"THE MISSION OF BLACK MEN SMILE® IS TO CREATE A SPACE FOR BLACK MEN TO CELEBRATE THE WAY WE SEE OURSELVES.  WE ASK BLACK MEN WHAT MAKES THEM SMILE...AND WORK TO CREATE SUSTAINABLE ENVIRONMENTS WHERE WE CAN DO IT MORE OFTEN."

Heavy heart, weighted with years of tears shed for men I’ve never met. Familiar strangers reflecting images of my father, brothers, cousins, lovers. Reflections of me. Born into a system that worships their demise, profits from their pain, and fears their power. My heart aches for the young black men being force fed America's poisonous rhetoric. My soul bleeds for them as they stare hate in the eyes looking at America's education, housing, economic, and justice system; all structured to benefit the prison-industrial complex at their expense. Black man, I vow to do my part to lighten your load in every way I can for the sake of my father, brothers, cousins, and lovers.


Black man

You're beautiful, you're marvelous, you're phenomenal

You are god's light personified

I love you


413 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page